top of page


“Some say they get lost in books, but I find myself, again and again, in the pages of a good book. Humanly speaking, there is no greater teacher, no greater therapist, no greater healer of the soul, than a well-stocked library.”


1. Eastern Body, Western Mind

Psychology and the Chakra System as a Path to the Self by Anodea Judith

The book uses the inherent structure of the chakra system as a map upon which to chart our Western understanding of individual development.Each chapter focuses on one chakra, starting with a description of its characteristics, then exploring its particular childhood developmental patterns, traumas and abuses, and how to heal and maintain balance.

“Love her,” he told the man.

“I told you, the feeling just isn’t there anymore,” the man replied.

“Love her,” Covey replied.

“You don’t understand. The feeling of love just isn’t there,” repeated the man.

“Then love her. If the feeling isn’t there, that’s a good reason to love her.”

“But how do you love when you do not love?” asked the man.

Covey replied: “My friend, love is a verb. Love—the feeling—is a fruit of love, the verb.

So love her. Serve her. Sacrifice. Listen to her. Empathize. Appreciate. Affirm her. Are

you willing to do that?”

Love is a feeling, yes, but a feeling that is created out of action. The fourth chakra sits

neatly above the third chakra will. Love is a daily, even hourly, conscious commitment to behave in a loving and caring fashion toward ourselves and others. When the feeling

fades, it is our responsibility to find ways to create new love. Like a garden that is

carefully tended, the rewards are well worth the effort.”

2. Eternity is Happening Now - Volume One

New essays and stories in two volumes by Sharon Gannon

Sharon deftly narrates the essence of the spiritual awakening we all seek, through stories, philosophical commentary and iconic moments with great beings - to inspire students, teachers and spiritual seekers. This is an in-depth work that brings out the essential foundations and origins of Jivamukti Yoga and a must read for the yoga community and beyond.

She doesn’t provide dry, factual accounts or tell you what you should or should not do in order to be happy. Rather, her insights and mastery with words create pathways in the reader’s consciousness that challenge habitual assumptions of reality, time, and possibilities, triggering a remembrance of what it means to be delighted with life and the myriad of opportunities it provides. If we want to enter into a new futuristic reality, we must observe and question the patterns of our past and be adventurous enough to reweave, rewrite, and thus rewire ourselves for a better future. Habits are learned behaviors. The good news is that something learned can be unlearned. We can start now and create a new type of tapestry using colorful threads derived from organic local sources of joy, compassion, and love. And in time may our future selves be delighted.